About the Republican Policy Committee

The United States Senate Republican Policy Committee (RPC) was established in 1947. Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri serves as its 16th Chairman and is the fourth ranking member of Republican leadership in the United States Senate.

The committee advances Republican policies by providing positions on legislation, floor debate, and votes. RPC also provides in-depth analysis on specific issues, policy solutions and alternatives, and strategic guidance. We also provide a recorded vote analysis and run the internal RPC TV broadcast.

In the tradition of past chairmen, the RPC provides a forum for Republican Senators for policy discussions. This is principally carried out through the weekly policy lunch. RPC also hosts Republican Staff Directors and Legislative Directors to discuss the Senate committees and floor agenda.

RPC’s origins go back to 1947 and its founding chairman, Senator Robert A. Taft of Ohio. The Committee was created following a bipartisan proposal by the Joint Committee on the Organization of Congress in 1946. The RPC was originally composed of nine Republican Senators. They provided all Republican senators with a description of meeting discussions and the chair would hold press availability following the meeting. Policy discussions now include all Republican senators.

Photo of the Republican Policy Committee In the Chamber room Photo of the Republican Policy Committee In the Chamber room Photo of the Republican Policy Committee In the Chamber room Photo of the Republican Policy Committee In the Chamber room Photo of the Republican Policy Committee In the Chamber room Photo of the Republican Policy Committee In the Chamber room

Republican Policy Committee Chairs

  • Robert A. Taft of Ohio (1947-1952)
  • William F. Knowland of California (1953)
  • Homer Ferguson of Michigan (1954)
  • H. Styles Bridges of New Hampshire (1955-1961)
  • Bourke B. Hickenlooper of Iowa (1961-1968)
  • Gordon Allott of Colorado (1969-1973)
  • John Tower of Texas (1973-1985)
  • William Armstrong of Colorado (1985-1991)
  • Don Nickles of Oklahoma (1991-1996)
  • Larry Craig of Idaho (1996-2003)
  • Jon Kyl of Arizona (2003-2007)
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison of Texas (2007-2009)
  • John Ensign of Nevada (2009)
  • John Thune of South Dakota (2009-2012)
  • John Barrasso of Wyoming (2012-2019)
  • Roy Blunt of Missouri (2019-present)

About Chairman roy blunt

Building on a background as a public servant, university president, and teacher, Roy Blunt was elected to the United States Senate in 2010.

Senator Blunt serves on the Appropriations Committee; the Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee; the Select Committee on Intelligence; and the Senate Rules Committee. He is the Chairman of the Rules Committee and Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education. He is also the Chairman of the Commerce Subcommittee on Aviation.

The people of Southwest Missouri overwhelmingly elected Senator Blunt seven times to the U.S. House of Representatives. Senator Blunt was elected the Majority Whip earlier in his career than any Member of Congress in eight decades and was elected to the Senate leadership in his first year in the Senate.

Before serving in Congress, he was a history teacher, a county official, and in 1984 became the first Republican elected as Missouri's Secretary of State in more than 50 years. Senator Blunt also served four years as the president of Southwest Baptist University in Bolivar, Missouri.

Senator Blunt is married to Abigail Blunt and has four children and six grandchildren.

Contact Us

Senate Republican Policy Committee
347 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Telephone: (202) 224-2946 | Fax: (202) 228-2628

We want to hear from you. For general inquiries or concerns, please contact SenateRPC_@RPC.Senate.gov.

Contact Us